The Spasskaya Tower is the main tower with a through-passage on the eastern wall of the Kremlin. The Spasskaya Tower was built in 1491 by an Italian architect Pietro Antonio Solari. The tower's modern name comes from the icon of Spas Nerukotvorny (The Saviour), which was placed above the gates on the inside wall in 1658 (it was removed in 1917) and the wall-painted icon of Spas Smolensky (Smolensky Saviour), which was created in the 16th century on the outside wall of tower. The Spasskaya Tower was the first one to be crowned with the hipped roof in 1624–1625. According to a number of historical accounts, the clock on the Spasskaya Tower appeared between 1491 and 1585.