Scuola Grande di San Teodoro

Dedicated to the first patron Saint of Venice, the Scuola Grande di San Teodoro was built in 1580 by a Confraternity of merchants and artisans based in the Church of San Salvador. the original architectural project by Simone Sorella was then further enlarged by Francesco and Tommaso Contin.The first floor (piano nobile) was designed and realized by Baldassarre Longhena and adorned with paintings from the XVII abd XVIII century by Vassilacchi, Jacopo Palma il giovana, Balestra, Bassano. It began as a charity offering education and training and later became a varehouse for flour; then a dormitory for homeless, then an archive and finally a cinema.