Porta San Pietro, also known as Porta Romana (Roman Gate) because it points Southwards in direction of Rome where was the Royal and Papal street, used to be walked by the pilgrims. It is situated in the medieval city walls and it has two façades. The inner façade is the most ancient, dating from 1300, and it has two opening ̶ one nowadays closed ̶ from which it takes the old name “Porta alle Due Porte”(Door to the two doors). On the upper part, inside of a recess, a fresco illustrating the Madonna of the Rosary between San Francesco and San Domenico. A gravestone recall the resistance of the citizens of Perugia against the Papal troops on the 20th of June 1859.