This minor medieval gate took its name from its closeness to the Benedictine Monastery, also known as the Sperandio, now a private residence. A plaque above the arch commemorates restoration work in 1329. In this area, in 1900, an Etruscan hypogeum was discovered (end 4th -3rd cent. B.C.), which was part of a necropolis used between the 6 th and 2nd centuries B.C.