Palazzo del Podestà is the current home of the municipal offices was erected in 1264 as the Palazzo of the Capitano del popolo. Later, the location underwent several restorations, and in 1700, a large balcony was added on the first floor. Few traces remain from the ancient façade. The Palace overlooks the Clock Tower (formerly called Tower Monaldeschi) which was rebuilt without the original battlements in 1487 after the destruction of the more ancient structure. The clock tower is slender, 44 meters high, and is enhanced by a beautiful ceramic dial and embellished with aristocratic coats of arms in peperino stone. At the top, there is an ancient bell which was forged in 1452 and was installed on an artistic wrought iron cage.