The Government Palace, now the seat of the prefecture, and it is the most characteristic building of Piazza del Plebiscito. It was built in the second half of the fourteenth century as the new seat of the city government, after the (older) palace of the Elders on the Guasco hill was burned down in 1348. In 1447 a third wing, parallel to the sea, was added by Maestro Montegrino. The entire building was redesigned in 1484 by Francesco di Giorgio Martini in Renaissance style. The City Tower, originally from the XIV century, was rebuilt in 1581 by the architect Giambattista Ghioldi, though the work continued under Pier Nicolò Longhi, Venetian. Eventually, in 1596 the bell tower was finished. Where today is the sundial, in 1612 there used to be a clock in the “Italian fashion”, made by Maestro Giorgio of Ferrara. The tower balcony and the late Mannerist portal were added by the Jesuit Francesco Brunello. The tower was restored after the earthquake in 1690. The present clock was built in 1808. It was built in white marble from Furlo and red marble from Verona by Pietro Zara. A clock was added in 1611 and in 1806, equipped with a chime by the master clockmaker Antonio Podrini from Sant’Angelo in Vado; it is equipped with four bells that play a melody at midday.