Palazzo Comunale

The Town Hall of Ravenna looks onto the main square of the city, Piazza del Popolo. The complex now consists of two adjacent buildings joined by a vault (called "Cavalcavìa") opening onto Via Cairoli: the former is the ancient Palazzetto Veneziano, situated to the North of the square. It was erected by the Venetians as the seat of their governors some years after conquering the city (1441). To the west of the square rises Palazzo del Comune (also known as Palazzo Merlato) the latter building, that was constructed between the late 17th and the 18th century on the place where the river Padenna used to flow in the Middle Ages.