⚉ CHAPEL OF THE HOLY SACRAMENT ⚉
It is located in the left arm of the transept. It was designed in 1612 by Carlo Maderno on behalf of archbishop Pietro Aldobrandini. In 1614 he commissioned the decoration of the chapel to the famous painter Giuido Reni from Bologna who moved to Ravenna with some scholars of his: Francesco Gessi, Giovanni Giacomo Sementi and Bartolomeo Marescotti. That painting challenge ended in 1621. Between two column by pavonazzeto is located Guido Reni’s altarpiece (maybe together with Francesco Gessi) depicting Moses and the picking of manna . The fresco of the dome The Redeemer and the archangels in glory is also by Reni and Gessi, such as the lunette over the main altar Melchizedec that blesses Abraham and his victorious people .
Giovanni Giacomo Sementi’s Prophets in the four pendentives of the dome, The Virtues and couple of angels with Eucharistic symbols in the underaraches and the eight Saints in the pillars, brought the cycle of paintings to an end.
At the bottom of the left nave we find the lunette of Elias in the desert to whom an angel brings bread and wine. Formerly the painting was in the arch above the entrance of the chapel. Last restoration during the end of the last century identified Guido Reni as the author of the painting.