Iglesia del Carmen

Information The church belonged to the old San Dámaso Carmelite convent, founded on 17 January 1575. Better known as the Carmen Calzado convent, it was built thanks to the patronage of Philip II, Princess Joanna of Austria, and the town of Madrid itself, which had the street widened and improved the site. When it was secularised and disentailed in 1836, only the church continued to function.This beautiful church is laid out in the form of a Latin cross with a single nave and chapels on either side. It was built between 1611 and 1640 by the architect Miguel de Soria, assisted after 1631 by the sculptor Mateo de Cortray, who produced the side walls.