The Church of St. José is a Catholic church located in the center of Madrid, where before the former convent of San Hermenegildo stood. The Convent was commissioned in 1586 by order of Fray Nicolas de Jesus and Maria, with the approval of Cardinal Gaspar de Quiroga and Vela. The building was completed in 1605, only to be demolished in the eighteenth century. In 1730 Pedro de Ribera commissioned the construction of the present church, with adjacent Carmelite convent. It is a monument of great proportions in the Baroque style. The façade is full of ornaments, the plant is a Latin cross with three naves. The project was completed in 1748.