The Church of Santa Maria Maggiore was erected by bishop Ecclesius between 525 and 532, and rebuilt in 1671 in baroque style on the basis of a design by Pietro Grossi. The cylindrical bell-tower dates back to the 9th/10th century. Evidences of the former building are the original columns and their capitals, as well as the inside division into a nave and two side aisles. The church hosts late-Renaissance paintings and sculptures and the tomb of the Ravenna architect Camillo Morigia (1743-1795). At the bottom of the left aisle, it is possible to admire a painting by Luca Longhi, that portrays Saint Paul visiting Saint Agatha in prison.