The Church of Santa Maria del Carmine was built in 1446. In 1268 the carmelites obtained a seta near the Castello Sforzesco: here, starting from the 14th century, they built a convent with an annexed church. The latter was however destroyed in a fire in 1330. The rebuilt church fell also in abandon before the end of the century, after the friars moved to another convent. The new church was built from 1400; works were completed in 1446. The vault crumbled down three years after the completion, and a restoration was necessary. In the mid-15th century, the church became a favourite destination for aristocratic burials, as testified by the numerous noble tombs in the chapels and niches.