A shrine was built near here in 1408 to house a painting of the Virgin commissioned by Francesco Amadi, on the walls of whose house it hung. This image soon got a reputation for working miracles and the funds that it generated allowed the building of a small wooden church squeezed into the same campo. Work began in 1481 on the present church and continued into the early 1490s. It was also funded by Angelo Amadi, the nephew of Francesco Amadi who had had the icon painted. The uncle had also been married to noted beauty Elena Badoer. The church was designed by Pietro Lombardo and embellished with carvings by him, his sons, and their workshop.