Chiesa di San Polo

This church, dedicated to the Apostle Paul, was founded in 837 by the doges Pietro Tradonico and Orso Partecipazio and rebuilt in the 12th and 15th centuries. Some heavy-handed restoration, additions and losses (including a mosaic-covered chapel and a silver Byzantine altar-front) in the early years of the 19th Century by David Rossi were partly reversed in 1927 revealing, for example, the 15th Century wooden ship's keel roof and restoring the rose window which dates from the same period. The 15th century work resulted in the gothic windows and the impressive South doorway by the Bon workshop that visitors enter from the cramped and busy calle.