Notice: Undefined index: types in /var/www/vhosts/getcoo.com/GetCOO_Lib/getcoo/getcoo.class.php on line 199

Warning: getimagesize(https://www.getcoo.com/62-4.jpg): failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.1 404 Not Found in /var/www/vhosts/getcoo.com/travel.getcoo.com/poipage.php on line 25
GetCOO | Chiesa di San Michele Arcangelo ai Minoriti

Chiesa di San Michele Arcangelo ai Minoriti

The regular Minorite priests came to Catania in 1625 thanks to the protection of the Senate and the engagement of the bishop Innocenzo Massimo.
In 1628 they moved to the church of Saint Michele building a house, which, together with the hardly started church, was destroyed in 1693.
Giambattista Paternò, an aristocratic of the town, bequeathed the priests with much of his fortune. The church was built then following the pattern of the basilica with three naves divided from pillars, the flat prospectus and the dome which was started in 1771 and completed in 1787.
The façade is of very white limestone creating a magnificent contrast with the black colour of the streets and pavements. Inside there is a double staircase with 13 marble steps; there you can also find two holy water springs resting on marble tables, amazing works because of the technical skill and harmony of composition.