Built in the 10th century, it is one of the oldest churches in the city.It was rebuilt in 1479 in the fifteenth century architectural style that still has today. From 1561 to 1767 he was granted as "iuspatronato" to Canani family, who commissioned to Gregorio Gregori the ceiling with "St Michael's victory on the rebellious angels". In the middle of 17th century St. Michael was painted in the niche above the entrance. Stripped of every work of art during the Napoleonic settlement in Ferrara, it still remained open for worship and in 1806 became a parish. In 1843 it was restored in the façade and plastered. It was deconsecrated in 1932 and since 1980 is home to a restoration laboratory.