Founded in 970 by the Badoer family. Rebuilt in 1443-75, restored in late 16th Century by Simone Sorella and again in 1758-9 by Bernardino Maccaruzzi. More work in the 19th Century. The scuola was founded in 1261 (making it the second oldest after the scuola of Santa Maria della Carita) and was housed in the church of Sant’Aponal until it moved in 1301 to this church and to an ospizio (asylum) building opposite, again at the expanse of the Badoer family. The scuola building too was rebuilt in the mid-15th Century. It was suppressed by Napoleon in 1797, but a new confraternity was established in 1857 (1929?) and thrives still.