The design for the current church, built starting in 1647, is attributed to Gaspare Vigarani, with the aid of Cristoforo Malagola called "il Galaverna".
The facade, designed by Antonio Loraghi, was built in 1685. The cycle of marble statues are the work of Giovanni, Andrea and Tommaso Lazzoni.
The inside follows the plan of a Greek cross with a central cupola supported by 8 groups of Corinthian columns with a rich trabeation topped by 4 arches.
The main altar, dating from 1666, is polychrome marble work by Antonio Loraghi. The image of the Madonna on the altar dates from the XVII century and is called the Ausiliatrice del popolo modenese; the name that was also given to the church at the beginning of the 1900's.