The church of San Francesco, located in Ostuni, was erected in the 14th century in a place donated to the Order of the Minor Friars. During the second half of the 18th century, after the 1743 earthquake which had deeply damaged the primitive, medieval church, it was rebuilt by an architect from Ostuni, Gaetano Iurleo. The façade portrays the neoclassical style of the town abode, a former Franciscan convent. The bronze portal was realized by the Roman artist Egidio Giarolo in 1985, and it reproduces the most significant episodes of the life of the saint from Assisi. The Latin cross interior is formed by a single nave, illuminated by the eight oval openings of the dome.