Built on a pre-existing medieval church. In 1558, the Duke of Este granted the administration of the church and adjoining convent to the Order of the Minims of Saint Francis of Paola. Rebuilt in 1660, it is home to important paintings, Baroque furnishings and decorations in marble and scagliola.
The vault is frescoed by Sigismondo Caula and Jacopo Antonio Mannini. Restored in 1838, the paintings represent episodes from the life of Saint Francis of Paola. Much of the church’s sumptuous interior and exterior decoration was made possible thanks to the support of the Dukes of Modena and to the passion of the church sacristan Luigi Roncati from the Order of Minims.