The church worked as a parish as early as 1114. At the beginning of the 15th century the church was expanded to its current size; the façade and the belfry was modified in the manner in which we see it today. In 1520 thanks to the Este family became a Priory. In the 18th century the famous historian and scholar Lodovico Antonio Muratori was prior of this church, for which he made substantial renovations. In 1841 it was restored and frescoed again, and in 1927 was restored a bit 'in the structures.