It was built by the Jesuits in 1570, designed by architect Alberto Schiatti. Following the suppression of the Society of Jesus (1773), the church and the school were entrusted to the Somaschi fathers. In 1933 the Archbishop Ruggero Bovelli moved the Priory of St. Michael in the church of Jesus. Then the church took the name of St. Michael in Jesus. The church was damaged during the bombing of WWII (1944). The interior has a single nave. Among other works of art, the "Lamentation over the dead Christ" by Guido Mazzoni (15th century), polychrome terracotta, and the sepulchral monument of the Duchess Barbara of Austria, wife of duke Alfonso II d'Este (1592), designed by Pirro Ligorio.