The Church of Jesus is one of the most interesting monuments of Ancona. Dedicated to the blessed Name of Jesus, the monument was commissioned by Count Nappi in 1605 in the area above today’s piazza Stracca , then called the flour square since it was the site of the flour market. In 1733 the Jesuits entrusted Luigi Vanvitelli with the enlargement of the church and convent (as stated by a plaque above the entrance). The project was completed in 1743. The high portico, which covers the main entrance and the staircase, is supported by two Doric columns and double corner pillars, while the two side arms embrace the flights of stairs. At the top, the attic with balustrade hides the octagonal lantern enclosing the dome. The materials of the facade are brick and white Istrian stone, strongly scenic materials. The plan of the monument is a Latin cross; Vanvitelli added at the sides of the central nave (barrel vault with lunettes) two naves that feature interconnecting chapels. Vanvitelli also added transept, presbytery and apse.