The castle was built on a pre-existing country villa, in turn located on the site of the 16th century Genoese walls. Built in 1893-1905, it was designed by Art Nouveau architect Gino Coppedè under commission by Florentine banker Evan Mackenzie, whose family lived here for 26 years. In 1956 it was declared a national monument. Thirty years later it was acquired by American collector Mitchell Wolfson, Jr. The restoration works he commissioned remained unfinished, and, after several changes of ownership, in 2002 the castle was sold to the Cambi auction house which commissioned the restoration to architect Gianfranco Franchini.