The home of the Domus Galilaeana is in the ancient Palazzo della Specola, belonging to Pisa University. Built in 1734-35, this was the first public astronomical observatory in Tuscany. A high tower was expressly added to the building, raised on the remains of a previous one, but in 1826 it was demolished because unsafe. The University Library and the Chemistry Cabinet were also housed in this building. The idea of creating an institution dedicated to Galileo Galilei and the study of his scientific works occurred during plans to celebrate the 100th anniversary of the First Meeting of Italian Scientists held in Pisa in 1839: the Domus Galilaeana was constituted in 1941.