It was designed in 1522 by the Perugian architect Galeazzo Alessi by will of a Genoese patrician, Bandinello Sauli, who had died in 1481. The construction lasted from more than fifty years. The dome was completed in 1603, after the church had been consecrated in 1583. In the 19th century the façade was reconstructed by Carlo Barabino. The church is on the Greek cross plan with four similar façades on each side. There are five domes and two squared-plan bell towers (four in the original design) at the Neoclassic main façade. The facade has two statues by Claude David.The interior is lavishly decorated by late Renaissance and Baroque artists.